Gone in 60 Seconds: Raspberry and Almond Cake

image

Disclaimer: this post has nothing to do with stealing cars. If this is what you were looking for, try here instead. What this post is actually about, is cake, and how fast it disappears from the plate (just so we are clear).

I made this cake for my friend J. and her little girl E. who came to visit at Greedy Frog Towers today. I fancied a raspberry/almond combo, but I wasn’t really in the mood for a Bakewell tart so I came up with this instead.

We had some with a cup of tea when she arrived, then a little bit more as a dessert after lunch. It sounds like there should still be about half a cake, right? Wrong! One small slice is all that is left. Bearing in mind that Mr Greedy Frog only had one slice, this means that J. and me pretty much ate a whole cake between us…

Am I feeling guilty? Not one bit. Do I wish I had made two cakes instead of one? Hell, yes!

You will need:

100 g butter, softened
150 g unrefined caster sugar
3 eggs
75g plain flour
75g ground almonds
1 large handful frozen raspberries
30 g flaked almonds

Method:

Preheat the oven to 210ºC/ fan 190ºC/ th 7. Butter a Ø26 cm cake tin.

Beat the butter and sugar together until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs one by one, mixing thoroughly inbetween each addition. Add the flour, then the ground almonds and mix until smooth. Add the raspberries and mix gently (you don’t want to beak them up too much).

Pour the batter into the prepared tin, scatter the flaked almonds on top and bake for 20/25 min or until nice and golden on top, and a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.image

17 Comments

Filed under Bakes, Cakes, Desserts

17 responses to “Gone in 60 Seconds: Raspberry and Almond Cake

  1. Looks yummy! I wouldn’t have felt guilty about eating the whole thing! 🙂

  2. petit4chocolatier

    Looks delicious! Yes, 2 cakes are better than 1 : )

  3. How did you know I just organized my tart pans two days ago? 😛

  4. you piglet.. lol
    I don’t blame you, it looks gorgeous, I keep meaning to make something sweet..xx

  5. Looks great – I get the 60 seconds thing with egg and bacon burittos (is there another r in burrittos? no I just wrote it and i dont think there is)

  6. The Smile Scavenger

    🙂 Everything you post looks so beautiful and delicious!

  7. Ohhh, the raspberries in the cake look like a nice addition!

Share your thoughts!

