How to Make Friends and Influence People: Dark Chocolate and Raspberry Cake

image

Every so often, I find myself in a situation where I badly need a favour from someone. I tend to feel very guilty asking for favours, though; I am always worried of imposing on people. So I usually come up with a way of returning said favour, and this normally involves cake.

There are also times, like now, when I want to thank someone with more than words. And this, too, normally involves cake. In this instance, I wanted to repay my long-suffering work colleagues for their kindness. I applied for a promotion recently, and had an interview which went well, but despite the good feedback I received, the position was given to someone else. I was obviously very disappointed, and I must have looked rather upset because all my lovely colleagues have done since I found out, is try and cheer me up. They even went as far as saying that they were delighted that I didn’t get the job because it meant I wouldn’t have to leave the office, and would still be working with them.

I suspect that this statement was partially motivated by the fact that I do often bring cake to work, especially as I am always in need of testers when I am working on a new recipe. But I also know that they meant it. So, thanks guys, I am really glad to be working with all of you.

If, like me, you rely on cake to do the talking at times, then this is a great recipe to have up your sleeve. It is quick and easy to make, the ingredients are likely to be in your kitchen already, and it can convey a message pretty well.

You will need:

200g good quality dark chocolate
4 eggs
Pinch salt
150 g caster sugar
50 g plain flour
150g butter, at room temperature, + extra for the tin
A handful raspberries (frozen are fine)

Icing sugar, to serve.

Method:

If you are using frozen raspberries, take them out of the freezer and lay them out on a sheet of kitchen paper.

Preheat your oven to 200ºC/ fan 180ºC/ gas 6. Butter a 26 cmØ cake tin, or deep tart tin (I use a fluted one, but a straight-edged one is fine too).

Break up the chocolate into even-sized chunks, place into a heatproof bowl. Find a pan on which the bowl can sit securely, with plenty of space between the bottom of the bowl and the bottom of the pan. Bring water to the boil in the pan, and place the chocolate on top, taking care that the bowl isn’t touching the water. Turn the heat down to a simmer and leave to melt for a few minutes without stirring.

Meanwhile, separate the eggs. Add a pinch of salt to the whites and whisk to stiff peaks.

Mix the butter and sugar until combined, but do not overmix (this will give the cake a fudge-like texture). Add the melted chocolate and mix thoroughly. add the egg yolks one by one, mixing all the while.

Add the flour and stir until incorporated. Add the egg whites a bit at a time, mixing delicately to avoid losing any of the air trapped inside them. Pour the batter into the prepared tin, scatter the raspberries on top (it doesn’t matter if they are still partially frozen), and press down gently on the fruit so it sinks into the batter a bit.

Bake for 20-25 min, or until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean. Cool in the tin for 5 min, then turn out onto a wire rack. When completely cool, sprinkle with icing sugar.

18 Comments

Filed under Bakes, Cakes, Desserts

18 responses to “How to Make Friends and Influence People: Dark Chocolate and Raspberry Cake

  1. WOW! I would certainly be your friend for THAT chocolate piece of wonderful0-ness!! LOL!

  2. petit4chocolatier

    This looks so delicious!!

  3. Chocolate and fruit are just made for each other! 🙂

  4. What is it about raspberries and dark chocolate? It’s a fantastic combination. I found some raspberry-chocolate coffee once and couldn’t stop smelling it. And raspberries with chocolate sauce and whipped cream are the perfect dessert, or snack, or breakfast, or…
    🙂

  5. Shakthi Abirami M M

    Now that is a sure-fire way to win some friends!! Looks so delicious!

  6. Hello, I have just made this delicious sounding cake – it’s in the oven as I write. May I please put the recipe on my Recipe pages – I will, of course, credit you with the recipe and put a link to your blog.
    The cake is being featured as one of mybeautfulthings tonight, with a link to here, but I will wait for permission for the recipe.
    All the best to you. I’m going to enjoy following. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Sign of Spring, Beautiful Fly and A New Chocolate cake « mybeautfulthings

  8. The cake was delicious! I’ve had lots of positive comments! please could ~I post the recipe on my Recipe pages -with full credit to you of course. 🙂

Share your thoughts!

