Another “No Cheese” Rant: Authentic Gratin Dauphinois

image

image

I was fortunate enough to spend 3 years studying in Grenoble, in a part of the French Alps called the Dauphiné. And it just so happens that this region is the birthplace of Gratin Dauphinois (or dauphinoise potatoes as it is called in English).

When I say that I was “fortunate”, it is because at the end of these wonderful 3 years, I headed back home with the recipe for Gratin Dauphinois in my back pocket (and a Master’s Degree in Business, but who cares? You can’t eat a degree).

Now, for those of you who read my Quiche Lorraine post, you will know that I don’t like it one bit when people mess with a beautifully simple recipe. This also applies to Gratin Dauphinois. THERE IS NO CHEESE IN IT, just potatoes, milk, cream, eggs and seasoning. That is all you need!

This gratin is perfect as a side dish with roast meats, or as a main with a few slices of cured meats.

You will need (for 4):

About 1.2 kg potatoes
2 eggs
750 ml milk
4 tbsp double cream
1 clove garlic
100g butter + extra for the dish
Nutmeg
Rosemary
Salt
Pepper

Method:

Preheat the oven to 200 C/ fan 180C/ gas 6-7.

Peel the garlic and cut in half. Rub the cut side over the bottom and sides of a large oven dish. Butter the dish.

Peel and wash the potatoes, then cut into 2mm slices.

In a large jug, beat the eggs, then add the cream and milk. Season.

Put a layer of potato slices over the bottom of the dish (you don’t need to be neat), then pour some of the milk mixture over it. Repeat until the dish is full or you have used up all the ingredients.

Season, sprinkle some grated nutmeg on top, and some rosemary. Dot small pieces of the butter all over.image

Bake for about 45 min or until golden and cooked through.

8 Comments

Filed under Mains, Sides, Vegetables, Vegetarian

8 responses to “Another “No Cheese” Rant: Authentic Gratin Dauphinois

  1. oh dear, I have to confess I put cheese in mine too, but my le repertoire de la cuisine says Gruyère cheese, which is obviously wrong in this case, I shall make your version next time I make beef bourguignon, they look yummy.

    • Well, you could always call it a potato and cheese bake 🙂 (and I am sure it is delicious!)
      I love cheese (I am French after all), I just think it isn’t always needed. I actually had one of the best pizzas I have ever tasted yesterday: a Puttanesca pizza from Pizza Express. No cheese, just tomato, chilies, capers, olives, and anchovies… It made my day!

  2. It is amazing how “cheesy” the cream becomes!

  3. I’m probably going to make this on Friday, I shall link your post if I do..x

  4. Pingback: Dauphinoise Pototoes « 5 kinds of Rice

  5. Pingback: Dauphinoise Potatoes « Happiness Stan Lives Here

Share your thoughts!

